Once Upon a Stormy Night

 

And in the night sky, the lightning struck

As if a silver blade slicing through the dark;

The charcoal clouds that dawdled from the heavens

Disturbed by the thunder that broke the silence.

 

The powerful wind blew from different ways

Our umbrella struggled like a leaf in a daze;

My heart could have melt when you held my hand

Your palm drove off the cold with a reviving warmth.

As we walked in the midst of the torrential rain

And the moon kept covered behind a cloudy curtain;

The beating of my heart outdid the thunder’s boom

Your presence lifted my soul to the hidden moon.

 

That moment I prayed, I am ally to the storm

I fervently wished that it would not end soon;

For if the weather ceased straight away

I could never speak of you to stay.

 

For if you only knew that under the sun or the rain

There’s only a perfect time or place I’ll remain;

It could be anywhere and any time

As long as you are there or here by my side.

Credits: I am grateful to the person who allowed me to use her painting, Ms. Grace Ighut. She is a friend of mine from high school and currently works in Singapore. If you are interested to see more of her wonderful artworks, please visit her website: graceighut.com. Here are the details of featured painting: Title: I Wanna Hold Your Hand Artist: Grace Ighut Website: graceighut.com
Credits: I am grateful to the person who allowed me to use her painting, Ms. Grace Ighut. She is a friend of mine from high school and currently works in Singapore. If you are interested to see more of her wonderful artworks, please visit her website: graceighut.com. Here are the details of featured painting:
Title: I Wanna Hold Your Hand
Artist: Grace Ighut
Website: graceighut.com

Note: Did I tell you that I am a hopeless romantic? I often jot down notes on my notebook, sketch pad, phone and any piece of paper — some remain notes and some turn out to be poems, short stories and essays. The thing is that when I started this blog, it is one of my goals: to write posts about love that I hope will entertain people and make them feel its magic. I hope that the next posts will serve their purpose.

Please say your thoughts on them as well by leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

