Simplicity

Once you come to see things through the eyes of children, you will realize how you had been when you were younger. It is likely what seemed big then, is small now. Days seemed to fly by really slow and dragging, but once older, you realize that last year seems just like yesterday.

I had the chance to take photos of children while they were at play at a beach, which I am presenting now. The photos were taken as I spoke with them, my curiosity led me to ask them questions, which turned out to be, for me, very meaningful.

I followed them as they scoured the beach for shells, and glass. As they combed the shoreline, it came to me how simple and easy life seemed to be then. Their laughter filled the air as they ran, played with the dogs that strayed along as they chased after one another, dug in the sand and collected their prized finds.

As I sat and watched them regroup and walk away, there were many things that ran through my head. While we mature as we age, we tend to go after things we consider important that we sometimes forget to stop, and enjoy the things around us; the little things that we tend to ignore as we pace through the business of our daily lives. We worry ourselves with work, deadlines, expectations and standards that trap us; we fail to breathe, to remind ourselves that we need to rest for a while. Our lives have become complicated that sometimes we wish could go back to when we were younger.

Leave a comment